Single Dads

Wow, so I haven’t written in a LONG time. I’m sorry about that. I could make excuses about how I’ve been studying for exams or how my sister’s wedding is in a month but that’s not going to change that I haven’t done anything.

Today I was looking on Reece’s Rainbow and clicked on the ‘available to Single Dads’ tag ( http://reecesrainbow.org/category/available-to-single-dads ). One of my good friends is a single dad and he is amazing, he loves his daughter dearly and she adores him. He has talked about how he has thought about adopting but is in school at the moment so he understands that right now may not be the best time.

Thinking of my friend reminded me of how very few countries allow for international adoption by single dads. I know there are wonderful men out there who would open their arms and welcome a child as a son or daughter. So I thought that today I would showcase some of the awesome kids who are able to be adopted by single dads.

Kids like:

Ryan who was born in 2012 and has a repaired cleft clip and palate, an amputated right ear due to infection, and a loss of vision in his right eye.

Ryan-1-177x300

Lianne who was born in 2014 and has down syndrome.

Lianne-224x300

Ricardo who is 10 years old and has a Cochlear implant and had a colostomy.

RICARDO_-216x300

And Charity, Levi, and Micah who are a sibling group waiting for a family. They are 12, 9, and 6 respectively. Charity is a few years behind in school because she didn’t have the chance to go to school before. Levi has untreated strabismus and has some learning disabilities. Micah has some mild speech difficulties but is doing much better.

Charity-Levi-Micah-300x300

Dear Lord,

Thank you for all the single dads who love their children and do their best to care for them and help them to grow up to be the best that they can be. I pray for the dads who want to adopt and become a father for a child who does not have a family. I pray that they won’t be discouraged but will be encouraged and will walk forward in this path You have called them on.

Lord, I pray that the children who wait will have hope that they will be loved and that they are loved. Please help them to know that they are loved by You.

Lord, You have adopted us all. You are our Father. I pray that as we begin to understand what You have done for us that it will inspire us to also love those who are lost. That we too will open our arms and welcome children into our families as You have welcomed us into Your family.

In Your name I pray,

Amen.

Leave a Reply

